Publications Committee

This committee advises the Trustee Board on the success of the Society’s existing publications and on the development of possible new publishing activities.  It monitors the performance of the journal publisher and ensures effective liaison between the Society and its publisher.

It monitors the external environment to ensure that potential changes are acted on as soon as possible and provides advice on editorial appointments. 


Prof Mary S Morgan

RES President 2023-24

Mary is the Albert O. Hirschman Professor of History and Philosophy of Economics at the London School of Economics; she is a Fellow of the British Academy (and served as Vice President 2014-8), and an Overseas Fellow of the Royal Dutch Academy of Arts and Sciences.


Prof Morten Ravn

Chair of Publications Committee

Morten is a Professor of Economics at University College London and works on macroeconomics. He is also Deputy Chairman of the Danish National Research Foundation (DNRF), and a Research Fellow of the Centre for Economic Policy Research (CEPR).


Prof Jaap Abbring

Managing Editor of The Econometrics Journal | http://jaap.abbring.org/

Jaap is a professor of econometrics at Tilburg University in the Netherlands and the managing editor of The Econometrics Journal.


Prof Francesco Lippi

Editor-in-Chief of the Economic Journal

Francesco Lippi is a Professor of Economics at LUISS University and a Senior Fellow at the Einaudi Institute of Economics and Finance (EIEF). His research concerns monetary economics, inflation and the interactions between wage-setting and monetary institutions. Francesco previously served as a Joint Managing Editor of The Economic Journal and as an Associate Editor of the International Journal of Central Banking.


Prof Emma Tominey

Council member (until 2025)

Emma Tominey is a Professor of Economics at the University of York, specialising in labour economics and child human capital. Emma worked at the University of Bristol before gaining a PhD from University College London, where she worked at the Centre for Economic Performance. Emma’s research is highly policy relevant – her research on youth unemployment influences UK and EU policy and Emma consults with UK government including HM Treasury. Her research has won awards including from EALE.


Prof Simon Gächter

Council member (until 2024)

Simon joined the University of Nottingham in February 2005. He is Professor of the Psychology of Economic Decision Making. He received his doctorate in Economics in Vienna. Before coming to Nottingham he worked at the Universities of Vienna, Linz, Zurich, and St. Gallen. He is also affiliated with the CESifo network (Munich), and the Institute for the Study of Labour (IZA Bonn).

Prof Sanjeev Goyal

Council member (until 2025)

Sanjeev Goyal is Professor of Economics and Fellow of Christs College, University of Cambridge. He is a pioneer and leading international scholar in the study of social and economic networks. His book, `Connections: an introduction to the economics of networks`, was published in 2007 by Princeton University Press. A Chinese translation appeared in 2010. Sanjeev Goyal is a Fellow of the British Academy and a Fellow of the Econometric Society. He was the Founding Director of the Cambridge-INET Institute (2012-2014) and was the Chair of the Economics Faculty (2014-2018). 


Leighton Chipperfield

RES Chief Executive

A social scientist by background, Leighton has a postgraduate diploma in Voluntary Sector Management from Cass Business School and a diploma in Charity Management from the Institute of Chartered Secretaries and Administrators. He is a Non Executive Director for The Evidence Quarter and a Fellow of the Royal Society of Arts. Leighton previously held senior roles at a large academic publisher and at the Microbiology Society.