Nominations and Appointments Committee

The committee is responsible for a) reviewing the nominations for President and making a recommendation to Council, b) reviewing nominations for Council elections and making recommendations on those candidates who should move forward to a ballot of the membership and c) appointing the chair and co-opted members of the Trustee Board.


Sir John Vickers

University of Oxford

John is a professor of economics at the University of Oxford and the Warden of All Souls College.

Prof Sir Christopher Pissarides

President Elect

Sir Christopher Antoniou Pissarides FBA is a Cypriot economist. He is the School Professor of Economics & Political Science and Regius Professor of Economics at the London School of Economics, and Professor of European Studies at the University of Cyprus. His research focuses on topics of macroeconomics, notably labour, economic growth, and economic policy. In 2010, he was awarded the Nobel Prize in Economics, jointly with Peter A. Diamond and Dale Mortensen, for the analysis of markets with theory of search frictions.

Prof Miguel Costa-Gomes

Council representative (until 2025) and Elections Officer

Miguel’s main research interests revolve around the observation and modelling of the behaviour of individuals in a variety of economic contexts under controlled conditions in the computer laboratory.


Tera Allas

Council representative (until 2024)

Tera leads economic research at McKinsey & Company and is a Trustee of the Productivity Leadership Group and the National Institute of Economic and Social Research. Previously, she worked as Deputy Head of the Government Economic Service and as a management consultant at McKinsey. Tera holds a M.Sc. in Technology and Industrial Economics (with distinction) from Aalto University and an M.B.A. (with distinction) from INSEAD.


Sir Charles Bean

Serving time until 2025

Charles is a professor of economics at LSE and a member of the Budget Responsibility Committee at OBR. He previously served as Chief Economist (2000-8) and Deputy Governor (2008-14) at the Bank of England. He was President of RES from 2013 to 2015 and was knighted for services to monetary policy in 2014.


Prof Karen Mumford

Council member (until 2024)

Karen Mumford is a Professor who specialises in applied labour economics. She received her PhD from the Australian National University (ANU). She is currently an elected Member of the RES Council, a Fellow of the Royal Society of Arts (FRSA) and an IZA Research Fellow. She was appointed CBE for services to Economics and Labour Market Diversity in the 2016 New Year’s Honours List.


Prof Abigail Adams-Prassl

Council member (until 2026)

Abi Adams-Prassl is an Associate Professor in Economics at the University of Oxford and a Research Fellow at the IFS, CEP, CEPR, and the Bonavero Institute for Human Rights. She has been awarded a number of prizes for her academic work and its policy impact, including the ESRC Outstanding Impact in Public Policy Prize and an ERC Starting Grant. She is currently an Associate Editor of the Review of Economic Studies and a Special Advisor to the UK Parliament Women and Equalities Committee.


Jonathan Athow

Council member (until 2026)

Jonathan Athow graduated with a master’s degree in economics from the University of East Anglia. He worked for 14 years in HM Treasury before becoming Chief Economist at HM Revenue and Customs. Between 2015 and 2021, he was Deputy National Statistician for Economic Statistics at the Office for National Statistics. Jonathan has since returned to HM Revenue and Customs and is Director General for Customer Strategy and Tax Design.


Prof Jo Blanden

Council member (until 2027)

Jo Blanden is Reader in Economics at the University of Surrey where she has worked since completing her PhD in Economics at UCL in 2005. She is a Research Associate at the Centre for Economic Performance, LSE. Her research focuses on intergenerational mobility and related issues in the Economics of Education, including Early Years and the recent disruptions to education from the pandemic. She regularly provides advice to Government and she is a member of the ESRC peer review college.


Prof Sriya Iyer

Council member (until 2027)

Sriya Iyer is Professor of Economics and Social Science at the University of Cambridge; Fellow, St Catharine’s College and Deputy Director, The Keynes Fund. Her research encompasses development, economics of religion, demography and health. She read for economics degrees in Delhi, India and Cambridge, UK, and has taught at Cambridge for twenty years. She is a Research Fellow of CEPR; Pew Research Centre’s India Advisory Board; Deputy Programme Chair, RES Conference 2020; and serves on the editorial boards of three journals. Her recent books are on The Economics of Religion in India (Harvard) and Advances in the Economics of Religion (IEA, Palgrave).