Winner of the Economics Network Outstanding Contributions Award


Helen Knight (Nottingham Trent University) has won the 2021 Outstanding Contributions to Economic Education award from Economics Network (EN), in collaboration with RES Education and Training Committee.

EN Awards - Helen and other winners - thumbnail.jpg

The Outstanding Contributions to Economic Education award is a part of the Economics Network Teaching award that commemorates individuals whose contribution to economics education is sustained over a long period and very substantial in its impact.

Helen successfully managed the introduction of a revalidated set of undergraduate economics degrees: the Economics degree and the Economics with International Finance and Banking degree. Both were popular in terms of enrolment and NSS scores.

Thanks to Helen's leadership, both these degrees managed to achieve the maximum score of 100 in several years.

Other EN Award winners include:

  • Outstanding Career Achievement in Economics Education: Peter Davies (University of Birmingham)

  • Best new lecturer award: Swati Virmani (De Montfort University)

  • Special commendations for contribution to economics teaching and learning during the pandemic:

    • Robert Riegler (Aston University)

    • Annika Johnson (University of Bristol)

    • Lory Barile (University of Warwick)

    • Petar Stankov (Royal Holloway University of London)

For more information on Economics Network's award winners, click here.