Trustee Board

The RES Trustee Board is legally responsible for the overall governance, management and policies of the Society, ensuring that the charitable objects for which it has been set up are met. The Trustee Board is constituted of four Honorary Officers (the President, President-elect, Honorary Treasurer and the Chair of Trustees); three Council members; up to five co-opted members.

Trustees should be members of the Society and meet other criteria to act as a charity trustee as set out by the Charity Commission.

Prof Sir Anton Muscatelli

Chair of Trustees and Co-opted Trustee

Anton has been Principal and Vice-Chancellor and Professor of Economics at the University of Glasgow since 2009. He is a Fellow of the Royal Society of Edinburgh, and of the Academy of Social Sciences. He was Chair of the Russell Group of Universities in 2017-20. He currently chairs the Economic Commission for the Glasgow Region City Deal. He was awarded the honour of Commendatore of the Republic of Italy in 2008, and a Knighthood in 2017. 

Prof Sir Christopher Pissarides


Sir Christopher Antoniou Pissarides FBA is a Cypriot economist. He is the School Professor of Economics & Political Science and Regius Professor of Economics at the London School of Economics, and Professor of European Studies at the University of Cyprus. His research focuses on topics of macroeconomics, notably labour, economic growth, and economic policy. In 2010, he was awarded the Nobel Prize in Economics, jointly with Peter A. Diamond and Dale Mortensen, for the analysis of markets with theory of search frictions.

Prof Imran Rasul


Imran Rasul is a Professor of Economics at University College London, Director of the Centre for the Microeconomic Analysis of Public Policy at the Institute for Fiscal Studies, and Co-Director of the James M. and Cathleen D. Stone Centre on Wealth Concentration, Inequality and the Economy. In these roles he has supported policy engagement among economists, advised early career researchers, and brought together research and education on the study of wealth concentration and economic inequality. He has served as a Council Member and Trustee of the Royal Economic Society (RES) from 2018-2023 and Chaired the RES Publications Committee from 2018-21.


Kate Collyer

Honorary Treasurer

Kate is Chief Economist at the Financial Conduct Authority, where she heads a division responsible for providing rigorous economic thinking, research, analysis, and advice to help the FCA deliver on its strategic objective of making financial services markets work well. Kate has nearly 20 years’ experience as an economist in roles spanning the public and private sector. Kate has undertaken several senior roles in government. She has published in The Economic Journal.

Prof Miguel Costa-Gomes

Council representative (until 2025) and Elections Officer

Miguel’s main research interests revolve around the observation and modelling of the behaviour of individuals in a variety of economic contexts under controlled conditions in the computer laboratory.


Prof Swati Dhingra

Council representative (until 2026)

Swati Dhingra is Associate Professor in Economics at LSE, and associate of the Centre for Economic Performance. She is currently a member of the UK’s Trade Modelling Review Expert Panel and LSE’s Economic Diplomacy Commission. She is Research Fellow at CEPR, and on the editorial boards of Journal of International Economics and Review of Economic Studies. Her research is in international economics and industrial policy. She has published in leading academic journals.


Tom Aldred

Co-opted Trustee

Tom is Deputy Director of the Government Economic and Social Research team at HM Treasury. Tom joined the Government Economic Service in 2003 and previous roles include leading the Treasury’s review of the Green Book and a spell at UKGI, the UK Government’s centre of excellence on corporate governance. Tom is also a School Governor.


Conrad Copeland

Co-opted Trustee

Conrad currently works at the Office for Budget Responsibility, leading on economic forecasts for the devolved nations of the UK. Previously he has worked as a researcher and instructor at the University of Toronto, University of Oxford, University of Bristol, and UCL. Conrad received his Economics PhD in 2021 from the University of Bristol and his research interests include international economics, trade, and economic history.


Dr Steven Proud

Co-opted Trustee | Deputy Chair University of Bristol

Steven Proud is a Reader of Economics Education at the University of Bristol, and deputy chair of the Education and Training Committee. He is an editor of the International Review of Economics Education, and is an executive board member of the Economics Network, which works to enhance the quality of economics teaching and learning. Steven’s research focusses on using empirical methods to evaluate the impact of pedagogical innovations.


Kofi Adjepong-Boateng

Co-opted Trustee

Kofi is a Research Associate at the Centre for Financial History, University of Cambridge and a Distinguished Fellow at the Munk School of Global Affairs & Public Policy, University of Toronto. He sits on the boards of Pembani Remgro Infrastructure Managers, Sanlam Africa Real Estate Advisor, and Helios Fairfax Partners and is a former Vice Chairman at Standard Chartered. In the past, Kofi chaired the Policy Committee of the Centre for the Study of African Economies, University of Oxford.


Prof Melanie Jones

Trustee (Co-opted)

Melanie Jones is a Professor of Economics at Cardiff Business School. Her research interest is empirical labour economics, and she has worked on a range of policy relevant issues, including for the Low Pay Commission and the Office of Manpower Economics. Melanie sits on the RES Council until 2027. She is a former Associate of The Economics Network, and is currently an associate editor at the British Journal of Industrial Relations and a member of the Review Body on Doctors’ and Dentists’ Remuneration and ESRC Grant Assessment Panel C.