Ten years of Denis Sargan Econometrics Prizes


https://res.org.uk/wp-content/uploads/res_assets/assets/uploaded/e21bd1de-63e8-4ee0-aca4280575a5fa07.jpghttps://res.org.uk/wp-content/uploads/res_assets/assets/uploaded/e21bd1de-63e8-4ee0-aca4280575a5fa07.jpgThe Denis Sargan Econometrics Prize was introduced in 2011 by The Econometrics Journal on behalf of the Royal Economic Society to commemorate (John) Denis Sargan’s fundamental contributions to and profound influence on econometrics. The prize is awarded for the best (unsolicited) article published in The Econometrics Journal in a given year by anyone who is within five years of being awarded their doctorate. An honorarium of £1,000 is awarded to the winning author(s).

With the awards of the 2020 prize to Neng-Chieh Chang and the 2021 prize to Xuewen Yu at the 2022 Royal Economic Society Conference, The Econometrics Journal has completed the first ten years of Denis Sargan Econometrics Prizes. The editorial of its May 2022 issue provides more details on the two most recent prizes and an update of the procedures for awarding the prize. It also recalls the wonderful sequence of past prize winners, in the hope and expectation that this will inspire the next generation of econometricians to send their best work to The Econometrics Journal.