RES Prizes and Awards

The Royal Economic Society Prize is awarded to the best paper published in The Economic Journal as selected by the RES President, a representative of the Editorial Board and a Council member.


RES Medal for Services to the Economics Profession

This medal is a new annual award to recognise an individual who has made an outstanding and lasting contribution to the economics profession in one or more of three dimensions: promoting economics; supporting economists; improving diversity.


Austin Robinson Memorial Prize

Awarded to the best paper published in The Economic Journal in a given year by an author (or multiple authors) who is within 5 years of receiving his or her (or their) PhD at the time of acceptance.


Royal Economic Society Prize

Awarded to the best paper published in The Economic Journal as selected by the RES President.


Economic Journal Referee Prize

Up to 14 prizes awarded each year for referees judged by the editors to have made an outstanding contribution in this capacity.


Denis Sargan Econometrics Prize

The prize is awarded for the best (unsolicited) article published in The Econometrics Journal in a given year by anyone who is within five years of receiving their doctorate.