Life Vice Presidents

Life Vice-Presidents are elected by the membership. The title is usually conferred on someone who has made based an outstanding contribution to the Royal Economic Society, for example having served as a President, Secretary-General or Honorary Treasurer.


Prof Sir Tim Besley

Professor Tim Besley is School Professor of Economics of Political Science and W. Arthur Lewis Professor of Development Economics in the Department of Economics at LSE. He is also a member of the National Infrastructure Commission, Fellow of the Econometric Society and British Academy. He is also a Foreign Honorary Member of the American Economic Association and the American Academy of Arts and Sciences.


Sir Charles Bean

Charles is a professor of economics at LSE and a member of the Budget Responsibility Committee at OBR. He previously served as Chief Economist (2000-8) and Deputy Governor (2008-14) at the Bank of England. He was President of the RES from 2013 to 2015 and was knighted for services to monetary policy in 2014.


Prof John Beath

John is Emeritus Professor of Economics at the University of St Andrews and a Council member of the ESRC. A fellow of the Royal Society of Edinburgh, the Royal Society of Arts and the Academy of Social Sciences, he was appointed OBE in the 2015 Birthday Honours List. He served as RES Secretary-General between 2008 and 2015.


Sir Richard Blundell

Richard is a professor of political economy at UCL and the director of the ESRC Centre for the Microeconomic Analysis of Public Policy (CPP) at the IFS.


Lord Terence Burns

Lord Burns is Chairman of Ofcom; Senior Adviser to Banco Santander and a member of the House of Lords Economic Affairs Select Committee. Previous appointments include Permanent Secretary to Treasury from 1991-1998; Chairman of Santander UK plc, Welsh Water, The Royal Academy of Music, Channel 4 and Marks & Spencer. He was also a non-executive member of the Office for Budget Responsibility


Prof Andrew Chesher

Andrew Chesher is the William Stanley Jevons Professor of Economics and Economic Measurement at University College London and the Director of the Centre for Microdata Methods and Practice at the Institute for Fiscal Studies where he is a Research Fellow. He is Fellow of: the Econometric Society, of the British Academy, and of the Academy of the Social Sciences and Foreign Honorary Member of the American Economic Association.


Sir Partha Dasgupta

Sir Partha Dasgupta is the Frank Ramsey Professor Emeritus of Economics at the University of Cambridge, Fellow of both the British Academy and the Royal Society, Member of the Pontifical Academy of Social Sciences, Foreign Associate of the US National Academy of Science, and recipient of the Volvo Prize, the Blue Planet Prize, and the Tyler Prize.


Prof Dame Rachel Griffith

Rachel is Professor of Economics at the University of Manchester and a Research Director of the Institute for Fiscal Studies (IFS). She was awarded a CBE in the Queen’s Birthday Honours 2015 for services to economic policy. She is a Fellow of the Econometric Society, the British Academy, the Academy of Social Sciences and a Research Fellow of CEPR.


Prof Jeremy M Hardie

Jeremy Hardie has split his life between business, public service including politics, and academia. He was a fellow and tutor in Economics at Keble College Oxford until 1975, when he left academic life for business. He served as a director of a wide variety of companies between 1970 and 1999, including John Swire and Sons, WH Smith (where he became chairman) and the pension funds of IBM UK and Unilever. He is a chartered accountant.


Sir David Hendry

David is a senior research fellow at Nuffield College, Oxford and a co-director of Climate Econometrics and of Economic Modelling in the Institute for New Economic Thinking at the Oxford Martin School.


Sue Holloway

Sue is now retired. She worked in the Government Economic Service for 13 years – at the Office for National Statistics, managing the GES and as Deputy Chief Economist at the Department for International Development. Following that she ran two charities – Pro Bono Economics and latterly Project Oracle.


Prof John Moore

John is David Hume University Professor at the University of Edinburgh, and School Professor at the London School of Economics. He is a Fellow of the British Academy, and a Foreign Honorary Member of the American Academy of Arts and Sciences and of the American Economic Association. He has served as President of the Econometric Society.


Sir Stephen Nickell

Stephen is an honorary fellow of Nuffield College, Oxford and a former member of the Bank of England Monetary Policy Committee.


Prof Denise Osborn

Now Emeritus, Denise was employed at the University of Manchester for 38 years, 23 as professor, publishing more than 80 papers and one book, many with international collaborators. External roles include Sub-Panel Chair UK RAE2008, Deputy Panel Convenor Hong Kong RAE2014 and service for the Royal Economic Society, Economic and Social Research Council and Leverhulme Trust, among others.


Prof Richard Portes

Richard is a professor of economics at London Business School and the founder and honorary president of the Centre for Economic Policy Research (CEPR). He is a Fellow of the Econometric Society and the British Academy and Honorary Fellow of Balliol College Oxford. His research areas are international macroeconomics and finance and financial regulation. He was decorated CBE in 2003.


Prof Dame Carol Propper

Carol is Professor of Economics and Associate Dean of Faculty & Research at Imperial College Business School, London. In 2010 she was awarded a CBE for her services to social science, in 2014 she was elected as a fellow of the British Academy and in 2018 she was appointed as an International Fellow of the National Academy of Medicine. In recognition of her work she has twice been awarded the Arrow Award and received the American Economic Association 2016 prize.


Mark Robson

Mark Robson is an Honorary Research Fellow and former Treasurer of Lady Margaret Hall, Oxford University. He was Treasurer of the Society from 2008 and previously Treasurer of the Royal Statistical Society and the Science Council.  


Penelope Rowlatt

Penelope Rowlatt worked in HM Treasury and the Department of Energy before becoming a Director first of National Economic Research Associates and then of Europe Economics. She was a member of the RPI Advisory Committee, the Royal Commission for Environmental Pollution, the Better Regulation Commission and the Restrictive Practices Court.


Prof Amartya K Sen

Amartya Sen is Thomas W. Lamont University Professor, and Professor of Economics and Philosophy, at Harvard University and was until 2004 the Master of Trinity College, Cambridge. He is also Senior Fellow at the Harvard Society of Fellows. Earlier on he was Professor of Economics at Jadavpur University Calcutta, the Delhi School of Economics, and the London School of Economics, and Drummond Professor of Political Economy at Oxford University.


Prof Lord Nicholas Stern

RES President 2018-19

Lord Stern is a professor at the LSE. He was previously the Chief Economist of EBRD between 1994-1999 and of the World Bank from 2000-2003. He was President of the British Academy from 2013-2017, knighted for his services to economics in 2004, elected an FRS in 2013 and made a Companion of Honour in 2017.


Prof John Sutton

John is the Sir John Hicks Professor Emeritus of Economics at LSE, and is a Fellow of the British Academy. He served as President of the RES from 2004 to 2007.


Sir John Vickers

John is a professor of economics at the University of Oxford and the Warden of All Souls College.