Finance Committee

The committee’s remit is to review the reserves and investment policies and make recommendations to the Trustee Board; advise the Honorary Treasurer on divestments to meet working capital requirements; and to review the appointment of auditors and make recommendations to the Annual General Meeting.


Kate Collyer

Honorary Treasurer

Kate is Chief Economist at the Financial Conduct Authority, where she heads a division responsible for providing rigorous economic thinking, research, analysis, and advice to help the FCA deliver on its strategic objective of making financial services markets work well. Kate has nearly 20 years’ experience as an economist in roles spanning the public and private sector. Kate has undertaken several senior roles in government. She has published in The Economic Journal.

Prof Sir Christopher Pissarides

RES President

Sir Christopher Antoniou Pissarides FBA is a Cypriot economist. He is the School Professor of Economics & Political Science and Regius Professor of Economics at the London School of Economics, and Professor of European Studies at the University of Cyprus. His research focuses on topics of macroeconomics, notably labour, economic growth and economic policy. In 2010, he was awarded the Nobel Prize in Economics, jointly with Peter A. Diamond and Dale Mortensen, for their analysis of markets with theory of search frictions.


Prof Morten Ravn

Professor of Economics at UCL

Morten is a Professor of Economics at University College London and works on macroeconomics. He is also Deputy Chairman of the Danish National Research Foundation (DNRF), and a Research Fellow of the Centre for Economic Policy Research (CEPR).

Leighton Chipperfield

Chief Executive

Leighton has spent the past 25 years in roles spanning academic and clinical research, policy and education, including leadership positions in the private and charitable sectors.

Leighton is Treasurer of The Evidence Quarter (a hub for the UK What Works Centres), a Governor of the University of Northampton and a Trustee of the Foundation for Professionals in Services for Adolescence. He holds a Postgraduate Diploma in Voluntary Sector Management from Cass Business School and a Diploma in Charity Management from the Institute of Chartered Secretaries and Administrators. He is a Fellow of the Royal Society of Arts..


Kofi Adjepong-Boateng

Co-opted Trustee

Kofi is a Research Associate at the Centre for Financial History, University of Cambridge and a Distinguished Fellow at the Munk School of Global Affairs & Public Policy, University of Toronto. He sits on the boards of Pembani Remgro Infrastructure Managers, Sanlam Africa Real Estate Advisor, and Helios Fairfax Partners and is a former Vice Chairman at Standard Chartered. In the past, Kofi chaired the Policy Committee of the Centre for the Study of African Economies, University of Oxford.

Prof Wim A. Van der Stede

CIMA Professor of Accounting & Financial Management

Professor Wim A. Van der Stede, at the London School of Economics and Political Science (LSE) since 2006, is the CIMA Professor of Accounting & Financial Management in the Department of Accounting, and currently the Dean of Extended Education. Wim has served as Director for the AAA and President of its Management Accounting Section. He also chaired the Publications Committee and the Doctoral Colloquium of the European Accounting Association. He is currently the Editor-in-Chief of Management Accounting Research and regularly appears at global academic and practitioner conferences as a speaker.