Economic Journal referee prize 2021


Referees are a central part of the academic peer review process. They help to ensure that published papers meet the high standards of quality that the Economic Journal is aiming for, and they provide valuable feedback to authors in further improving their work.

The Economic Journal recognises the contribution of exceptional referees with its annual referee prize. The Journal is delighted to honour the following 14 referees who went beyond the call of duty during 2021:

  • Sebastian Axbard, Queen Mary University of London
  • Jan David Bakker, Bocconi University
  • Natalie Bau, University of California, Los Angeles
  • Dana Galizia, Carleton University
  • Greg Jarosch, Princeton University
  • Antonio Penta, Universitat Pompeu Fabra & BSE
  • Casey Rothschild, Wellesley College
  • Simone Schaner, University of Southern California
  • Pablo Schenone, Fordham University
  • Nicolas Schutz, University of Mannheim
  • Liyan Shi, Einaudi Institute for Economics and Finance
  • Peter Norman Sørensen, University of Copenhagen
  • Jan Stuhler, Universidad Carlos III de Madrid
  • Ina Taneva, University of Edinburgh