Finance Committee

The committee’s remit is to review the reserves and investment policies and make recommendations to the Trustee Board; advise the Honorary Treasurer on divestments to meet working capital requirements; and to review the appointment of auditors and make recommendations to the Annual General Meeting.


Andrew Farrell

Honorary Treasurer

Andrew is now retired, following 13 years as CFO & Finance Director at the LSE and 20+ years with Xerox Corporation’s European Headquarters. Since retirement, he has had assignments as Director of Finance and Corporate Resources at The British Academy and as a Non-Executive Director at a London NHS Trust. He is a Trustee of the Epilepsy Society, a Fellow of the Chartered Institute of Management Accountants and a Fellow of the Association of Corporate Treasurers.

Prof Sir Christopher Pissarides

Professor of Economics at LSE

Sir Christopher Antoniou Pissarides FBA is a Cypriot economist. He is the School Professor of Economics & Political Science and Regius Professor of Economics at the London School of Economics, and Professor of European Studies at the University of Cyprus. His research focuses on topics of macroeconomics, notably labour, economic growth and economic policy. In 2010, he was awarded the Nobel Prize in Economics, jointly with Peter A. Diamond and Dale Mortensen, for their analysis of markets with theory of search frictions.


Prof Mary S Morgan

RES President

Mary is the Albert O. Hirschman Professor of History and Philosophy of Economics at the London School of Economics; she is a Fellow of the British Academy (and served as Vice President 2014-8), and an Overseas Fellow of the Royal Dutch Academy of Arts and Sciences.


Prof Morten Ravn

Professor of Economics at UCL

Morten is a Professor of Economics at University College London and works on macroeconomics. He is also Deputy Chairman of the Danish National Research Foundation (DNRF), and a Research Fellow of the Centre for Economic Policy Research (CEPR).


Leighton Chipperfield

Chief Executive

A social scientist by background, Leighton has a postgraduate diploma in Voluntary Sector Management from Cass Business School and a diploma in Charity Management from the Institute of Chartered Secretaries and Administrators. He is a Non Executive Director for The Evidence Quarter and a Fellow of the Royal Society of Arts. Leighton previously held senior roles at a large academic publisher and at the Microbiology Society.


Kofi Adjepong-Boateng

Co-opted Trustee

Kofi is a Research Associate at the Centre for Financial History, University of Cambridge and a Distinguished Fellow at the Munk School of Global Affairs & Public Policy, University of Toronto. He sits on the boards of Pembani Remgro Infrastructure Managers, Sanlam Africa Real Estate Advisor, and Helios Fairfax Partners and is a former Vice Chairman at Standard Chartered. In the past, Kofi chaired the Policy Committee of the Centre for the Study of African Economies, University of Oxford.

Prof Wim A. Van der Stede

CIMA Professor of Accounting & Financial Management

Professor Wim A. Van der Stede, at the London School of Economics and Political Science (LSE) since 2006, is the CIMA Professor of Accounting & Financial Management in the Department of Accounting, and currently the Dean of Extended Education. Wim has served as Director for the AAA and President of its Management Accounting Section. He also chaired the Publications Committee and the Doctoral Colloquium of the European Accounting Association. He is currently the Editor-in-Chief of Management Accounting Research and regularly appears at global academic and practitioner conferences as a speaker.