Annual Conference Committee

This group provides both strategic and logistical oversight of the RES Conference, including the design and creation of the conference programme.

Giovanni Razzu

RES Conference Secretary

Giovanni is Professor of Economics of Public Policy at the University of Reading. He is the Director of the Master in Public Policy and has been the Head of the Department of Economics between 2016 and 2019. He has been a member of the expert panel of the European Institute for Gender Equality and of the UKRI Equality, Diversity and Inclusions Advisory Panel.

Prof (Sir) Chris Pissarides


Sir Christopher Antoniou Pissarides FBA is a Cypriot economist. He is the School Professor of Economics & Political Science and Regius Professor of Economics at the London School of Economics, and Professor of European Studies at the University of Cyprus. His research focuses on topics of macroeconomics, notably labour, economic growth, and economic policy. In 2010, he was awarded the Nobel Prize in Economics, jointly with Peter A. Diamond and Dale Mortensen, for the analysis of markets with theory of search frictions.

Professor Michela Vecchi

Programme Chair RES Conference 2024-2025

Michela is Professor of Economics at Kingston University, visiting scholar at the National Institute of Economic and Social Research (NIESR), fellow of the Royal Economic Society and fellow of the Royal Society of the Arts (RSA). Michela has also worked as a consultant for the ONS (2019-2021), cooperating in the analysis of the skill mismatch in the UK.  Michela’s research broadly focuses on productivity, technical change, skills and wellbeing, with applications on the graduates’ labour market outcomes, the green economy and the creative sector.